info on Sengoku era katateuchi

NihontoSeeker

is it because im new to nihonto you treat me like a fool? i have searched the site before asking its members!!!

I looked at your spelling and nothing comes up at least my spelling brings up some info. if you treat people in a way like you do you get this kind of reaction.

Reuben NihontoSeeker not punk!!

Calm down, Reuben.

OK, to get it back on track, away from emotions:

uchigatana is (in most cases a single-handed) sword, which became very popular during the Muromachi period, as more and more battles required fighting on foot. Its predecessor is the shorter uchigatana from the Heian period. The uchigatana was a sashizoe (sword thrust through the belt, as opposed to a tachi, which hung from the belt).

Uchigatana was longer than a koshigatana (hip sword), the latter being the forerunner of the tanto. Earlier uchigatana were hira zukuri.

katate-uchi - I am not sure if this term has to be seen as another name for an uchigatana. Some would say katate-uchi is a shorter, single handed uchigatana.

So, that's in a nut shell.

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that the term "katate-uchi" should refer to the blade design without koshirae and "uchigatana" refers to the mounting style with or without blade.

"KATATE-UCHI: "One Handed Fighting Sword" were long swords, like Katana. The Japanese produced this long sword style from the period of Bun-mei (1469) through Ten-mon (1532).

Any sword having a Nagasa of 21 3/4 in. to 25 1/2 in. from those Koto times was not a Wakizashi but the famous Katate-uchi.

Many of the great swords and treasure pieces from this era, by Muramasa to Yozozaemon were made in this Sugata.

Katate-uchi is the predominant style of the Sengoku."

Are you looking some specific information or general information on them? As you've noticed information in English on them is pretty scarce online. ;) The couple threads on this forum and Shibui Swords are pretty much the only ones I'm aware of.